top of page

To Cleanse or Not to Cleanse?


Photo credit: wholeliving.com

We hear a lot about cleansing, there are many variations out there. Have you tried any? What was the outcome? I have to say, I don't believe in the concept. Yup, I said it! Before you run away from my blog let me explain.

Your body is incredible! It was built with organs like your liver, kidney, circulatory system (to name a few) that are there for that exact reason: to cleanse!

I prefer the idea of an elimination diet to help those organs do their job better. While eliminating certain food groups, we'll get to the details shortly, you must be sure that you are adding nutrients and lots of water "to flush" your system.

By eliminating certain foods you are allowing systems in your body to figure out if you have any food sensitivities or intolerances as well as allowing your organs to have an easier job of cleansing the toxins from your body. Unless you are trying to track down food allergies, I like to start simple.

The things that you should eliminate for 30 days are processed foods, fast food meals, dairy and wheat. Limit your alcohol and caffeine as well.

This is going to take planning ahead if you want to succeed. It will also be an extra challenge if you are the person in charge of cooking at home if other household members don't want to eliminate these foods. Understanding the challenges ahead of time will make you better prepared. Also remember, to be flexible not a fanatic! You can trip, but try to recover before you fall!

Cleaning out your refrigerator and cupboards is a good place to begin. Temptation is going to be your downfall. Please don't eat everything that you eliminate from your diet, either put it away or give it away!


join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

My Journey of Discovery
and Weight Loss

A year ago, I decided it’s time to change my lifestyle. This meant taking control of my life and making important decisions..

Read More About me
My Sponsers
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Black Google+ Icon
bottom of page